Transportation

Transportation of passengers and goods

Camionnage

Whether you are a land carrier or a marine carrier, the constant concern is the optimal use of vehicles and their maximum load. The more you carry goods, the more you reduce the cost per kilometer. You may want to monitor these key performance indicators using a specialized transportation software:

 

 

 

  • Turnaround time: This is the average time span between the arrival of a vehicle at the loading site and its departure.
  • % of truckload capacity utilized: This is the loaded weight compared to the theoretical maximum capacity. An under usability of 15% is an opportunity to be more efficient.
  • True vehicle utilization: This is the true utilization time of vehicles compared to the total planned utilization time.
  • Transit time: Number of days or hours from the time of departure to the time of arrival of the shipment.
  • Empty miles: Percentage of distance (or travel) without a load.
  • Average number of stops per trip: Number of stops per trip.
  • Tonnage moved: Weight of moved goods (in tons).

How are maps useful in these situations? In general, when transporting goods, we usually move them from an origin to a destination. This concept involves moving goods from a place of origin to a destination, which can both be analyzed at the micro level (specific addresses of warehouses, customers’ locations, etc.), but also at the macro level (regions, states, routes, etc.). This bigger picture can be useful to find suboptimal routes (e.g., where transit time is longer), the places where empty loads occur more frequently; the destinations where the truckloads are suboptimal, etc.

These trends can easily be illustrated on maps of destinations or on flow maps. To discover how our Map4Web transportation analysis software can help you, please check our realizations below.

Our realizations

Application for the analysis of worldwide marine transportation

marine transportation
Development of an application for the marine transportation sector, which comprises worldwide data about marine transportation of goods, for the last 7 years. The application supplies information about the origin, the destination, and the types and quantities of goods transported.

Application for planning urban transportation needs

urban transportation
Development of an application for planning urban transportation needs, based on data collected through origin-destination surveys conducted in 5 metropolitan regions of the Province of Quebec. The application allows for analyzing commuting habits via different transportation modes, as well as for comparing analysis results of the previous surveys.

Application for the analysis of cross-border and international commerce

international commerce
Development of a geo-analytical application for the analysis of international and interprovincial cross-border commerce and customs datasets in order to support the planning, at a national level, of integrated multimodal transportation and the development of strategies to meet the challenges and issues in transportation.

Application for the analysis of trucking survey data

truckig
Development of a specific geo-analytical application for the analysis of intercity trucking survey data, at the Canadian scale, between 1999 and 2006. The application supplies information on trucking routes, their origin and destination, the weight and the truck configuration, as well as the type of load (categories of goods, weight, volume).

Application for the analysis of marine flows of passengers and goods in Europe

transportation of goods
Development of a spatial decision-support solution for analyzing the flow of passengers and goods in Europe in order to conduct complex analyses of ship mouvements between the main shipping ports, and easily determine the high-stake routes (people and goods) and marine areas potentially at risk. In collaboration with the Research Center on Risk and Crisis (CRC), Mines Paristech (Sophia Antipolis) and the Naval Academy Research Institute (IRENav).

Cet article est également disponible en : French

Subscribe to our news and newletters

Transport

Transport de personnes ou de marchandises

CamionnageQue l’on soit un transporteur routier ou un transporteur maritime, la préoccupation constante est l’utilisation optimale des véhicules et la capacité maximale de chargement de ceux-ci. Plus on transporte de marchandises par véhicule, plus on réduit les coûts au km. On peut donc vouloir monitorer à l’aide d’un logiciel de transport les différents indicateurs de performance suivants:

 

 

  • Délai: c’est le temps moyen entre le moment d’arrivée d’un véhicule au lieu de chargement et le moment de son départ.
  • % capacité utilisée: Il s’agit du poids chargé par rapport à la capacité théorique maximale. Une sous capacité d’utilisation de 15% est une opportunité d’être plus efficace.
  • Durée utilisation: Temps d’utilisation des véhicules par rapport au temps total d’utilisation planifié.
  • Temps de déplacement: Nombre de jours ou d’heures à partir du moment du départ au moment d’arrivée du chargement.
  • Chargement à vide: Pourcentage de distance (ou de voyage) sans chargement (à vide).
  • Nombre d’arrêts: Nombre d’arrêts par voyage.
  • Tonnage déplacé: Tonnage de marchandises transporté en tonne.

Mais où intervient la cartographie dans ces analyses me direz-vous ? En règle générale, lorsque l’on transporte des marchandises on souhaite les déplacer d’une origine à une destination. Ce concept de déplacement fait intervenir un lieu d’origine et un lieu de destination qui peuvent être analysés au niveau micro (adresses précises des entrepôts, des clients, etc) mais aussi au niveau macro (par région, état, parcours, etc.). Ce portrait plus général peut permettre d’illustrer les parcours moins optimaux (ou le transit time est plus long), les origines où les chargements à vides sont plus fréquents, les destinations où la capacité d’utilisation des véhicules est sous-optimale.

Ces grandes tendances peuvent facilement s’illustrer sur une carte des destinations ou une carte de flux. Pour connaître comment notre logiciel d’analyse de transport Map4Web peut vous aider, consulter les réalisations ci-dessous.

Nos réalisations

Application pour le transport maritime à l’échelle mondiale

transport maritime

Réalisation d’une application de transport maritime à l’échelle mondiale pour les 7 dernières années fournissant les informations sur les ports maritimes d’origine et de destination et les marchandises transportées (tonnage).

Analyse du transport urbain (enquêtes origine-destination)

transport urbain

Réalisation d’une application pour la planification des transports urbains mettant en valeur les données issues des enquêtes origine-destination réalisées dans 5 régions métropolitaines du Québec, pour les habitudes de déplacements via les différents transports en commun.

Application en commerce international et transfrontalier

commerce international
Réalisation d’une application pour l’exploitation des différents ensembles de données de commerce international, transfrontalier et interprovincial par poste douanier supportant la planification multimodale intégrée à l’échelle nationale et les mesures et stratégies pour répondre aux défis et enjeux en transport.

Application sur les enquêtes de camionnage interurbain

transport par camion
Réalisation d’une application pour les enquêtes sur le camionnage interurbain, menées en 1999 et 2006 à l’échelle canadienne et fournissant des données concernant les corridors empruntés par les camionneurs, les lieux d’origine et de destination, le poids et la configuration du camion et la nature de son chargement (catégorie de marchandise, poids, volume).

Analyse maritime des flux de passagers et de marchandise en Europe

transport maritime
Développement d’une solution géodécisionnelle pour l’analyse des flux de passagers et de marchandises en Europe supportant des analyses complexes sur les données de transport maritime pour déterminer plus aisément les routes maritimes à forts enjeux (personnes et biens) et sur les zones maritimes potentiellement à risques. En collaboration avec le Centre de recherche sur les Risques et les Crises (CRC), Mines Paristech (Sophia Antipolis) et Institut de Recherche de l’Ecole Navale (IRENAV).

Cet article est également disponible en : Anglais

Subscribe to our news and newletters